Grammercy Records

Welcome To Grammercy Records! Please Select A Genre Below To Browse Our Music Catalog.


Big Bill Broonzy - Sixteen Tons - Classic Blues, Folk Music
Click To Enlarge Image

Big Bill Broonzy - Sixteen Tons


Born June 26th, 1898, in Scott Mississippi, William Lee Conley Broonzy started working in the fields picking cotton and corn at the age of seven. Along with his brothers, he took up coal mining in 1916 before moving to Chicago where he started playing the guitar in the early 1920s. He first recorded in 1927 and became a hit-maker during the next decade. He enjoyed a long recording career (260 blues songs) up to the time of his death, from throat cancer, on August 14th, 1958. He was one of the few popular bluesmen associated with a sound as well as with signature songs like 16 Tons, and Baby Please Dont Go, which are both included on this remarkable blues album.

Track Listing

  1. Baby Please Don't Go (2:26)
  2. Letter To My Baby (3:09)
  3. John Henry (3:00)
  4. Down By The Riverside (3:04)
  5. Hey Bud Blues (3:06)
  6. Coal Black Curly Hair (4:08)
  7. House Rent Stomp (3:15)
  8. When Did You Leave Heaven (3:33)
  9. Sixteen Tons (2:16)
  10. St. Louis Blues (2:28)