Grammercy Records

Welcome To Grammercy Records! Please Select A Genre Below To Browse Our Music Catalog.


Click To Enlarge Image

Frank “Big Boy” Goudie, Bob Mielke, & Bill Erickson Combo - Live at Monkey Inn, 1961-62 Volume 3: Jamming In The Woodshed


These four- and five-piece combos feature dynamic musicians of the Frisco jazz revival who jammed weekly in a Berkeley dive. At the peak of their musical powers were 6' 5" Louisiana-via Paris clarinet player Frank "Big Boy" Goudie, young trombonist Bob Mielke, then leading his own popular Bearcats jazz band, and piano player Bill Erickson, a brilliant but now forgotten talent who led combos and jam sessions.

Their adventurous style and repertoire were more influenced by New Orleans, Harlem and Kansas City swing than by the Trad Jazz of Watters and Murphy. Goudie's masterful Creole clarinet shines luminously, forged by thirty years playing with the jazz elite of Europe, 1925-55.

Volumes Two and Three include a mystery trumpet player rounding out the combo for a New Orleans-style front line. It was probably one Jerry Blumberg who fused the gritty New Orleans horn style of Bunk Johnson with the classy New York sound of Bobby Hackett. In vivid stereo, these are the best performances available by the elusive Goudie, Erickson or Blumberg.

To read the full album liner notes please click here.

Track Listing

  1. Cakewalkin’ Babies (from Home) (4:08)
  2. Willie the Weeper (4:17)
  3. Gettysburg March (6:09)
  4. Sweet Substitute (5:32)
  5. You’re Gonna Lose Your Gal (5:15)
    Bob Mielke Featured.
  6. Nobody Knows (7:44)
  7. Big Butter and Egg Man (5:52)
  8. Monkey Rhumba (1:01)
  9. I Ain’t Gonna Give Nobody None of my Jelly Roll (7:58)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player.
  10. Careless Love (6:57)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player.
  11. Up a Lazy River (8:21)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player.
  12. Diga Diga Doo (7:21)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player.
  13. Angry (5:05)
  14. The Goldigger’s Song (We’re in the Money) (5:36)
  15. Creole Love Call (5:30)
  16. Doctor Jazz (6:00)
  17. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Write Myself a Letter (6:15)
  18. Sweethearts on Parade (6:30)
  19. Just a Closer Walk with Thee (5:32)
  20. Just a Closer Walk with Thee (7:21)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player And Banjo, Probably Dick Oxtot.
  21. Battle Hymn of the Republic (5:16)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player.
  22. Ice Cream (6:52)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player.
  23. Joseph, Joseph (7:17)
    Quintet With Trumpet Player And Banjo, Probably Dick Oxtot.