Grammercy Records

Welcome To Grammercy Records! Please Select A Genre Below To Browse Our Music Catalog.


Click To Enlarge Image

Earl "Fatha" Hines - Live In San Francisco 1957


This album features The Earl Hines All Star Sextet performing live at the famed Club Hangover in San Francisco California in 1957. These songs are, like all reunions of jazz stars, reminiscent, timeless, and comfortable. The tunes are familiar, everything that needs proving has already been proved, and Hines is among friends. Muggsy Spanier plays cornet, Jimmy Archey trombone, Darnell Howard clarinet, Pops Foster bass, and Earl Watkins drums. The ensemble around Hines includes a touch of New Orleans, black and white, and a generous helping of Chicago in the heyday of Hines. It is impossible to find Hines in a more natural environment, and in this setting Hines shines.

Track Listing

  1. When The Saints Go Marching In (5:06)
  2. My Monday Date (7:00)
  3. Relaxin' At The Touro (3:19)
  4. Baby, Won't You Please Come Home (5:45)
  5. Mood Indigo (4:07)
  6. Ugly Child (2:52)
  7. Caravan (5:14)
  8. Won't You Come Home, Bill Bailey (3:06)
  9. Pop's Blues (5:57)